What do you think?


Should Christmas cards be banned at school?

Christmas cards

At least one school in England has banned Christmas cards this year because they say it’s too upsetting for the kids who don’t get very many.So do you dread classroom deliveries from the Christmas post box? Or do you think giving cards is a good way to spread some Christmas cheer?

Maybe you think the school is over-reacting? If you couldn’t give your mates cards, what would you do instead?

Newsround comments:

“We have a Christmas post box and they are given out in the afternoon. We recycle our cards for the next year. We think they should not be banned. We also do the same thing with Eid cards!”

6N Class, 10, Manchester, England

“I don’t think they should be banned because people should not be upset just because they don’t get Christmas cards. They’re just a piece of card!”

Ellie, 11, London, England

“I like Christmas cards and they make me happy when I get them, so please don’t ban them.”

Ben, 7, Bury, England

“No I don’t see why they should be banned. In my old elementary school, when you brought in Christmas cards you brought them in for everyone or no-one.”

Kristi, 13, New York, USA

“I like the idea of a post-box because it means you don’t see them being handed out in the corridor and if your teacher does it at the end of the day it means that you don’t see the other kids’ cards. But if your school doesn’t have a post-box and doesn’t hand them out at the end of the day then maybe they should be banned.”

Amanda, 7, Wiltshire, England

“My school has a cardboard post-box that you post your cards into. You aren’t allowed to give them to people by hand. If my school banned Christmas cards I would go mad!”

Amy, 9, Leicester, England

“I think that it’s a waste of paper. They may look nice but trees are a lot more important. I think that we should use paper for better things that are actually more important to life than cards that will only be used for Christmas.”

Melissa, 11, East Kilbride, Scotland

4 thoughts on “What do you think?

  1. If I couldn’t give my mates cards then I would give they money I would have spent on cards to Charity, and choose a different one each year.

  2. DON’T BAN CHRISTMAS CARDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Rebecca M, year 7 xxxxx

  3. I wont be able to give my friends christmas cards else they are not a waste of paper!!!!! Silly Millie xx

Please take the time to comment...

